The 10 Best Dropshipping Niches of 2019 for Maximum Profits

The 10 Best Dropshipping Niches of 2019 for Maximum Profits

Looking for the best dropshipping niches of 2019?

Well, I’ve got good news for you. Not only am I going to give you the complete list for 2019’s most-profitable drop ship niches, I’m also going to give you my top ten niche list from the previous four years!

That means you’re about to get 50 proven-profitable niches to choose from! Now let’s get started…

2019: Brandable Niches

Moving into 2019, we’re heavily focusing on brandable drop shipping stores. That means we need niches that give us multiple opportunities for monetization.

While it’s still very possible to make a lot of money with niches that only provide the opportunity for one-off sales, I do believe that as we move into the future, the more opportunities for monetization, the better.

So Without Further ado, Here are my Top Ten Brandable Dropshipping Niches for 2019:

Minimalist Luggage

Build a brand around travel where you can drop ship minimalist luggage.  Add in another revenue stream by doing brand deals with travel companies and promoting flights as an affiliate.

Home Gaming Setups

Build a brand around gaming where you drop ship desks, mounts, and gaming chairs.  Add in another revenue stream promoting PC parts as an affiliate.

Increase your brand reach by virtually building e-sports stars’ gaming computers and share details on how visitors can recreate them for themselves.

High-Performance Workstation

Similar to home gaming setups, you can drop ship desks, mounts, chairs, and even treadmill desks.  Build a brand around productivity and add in additional revenue streams by promoting project management software.

Add in another revenue stream by promoting business conferences that focus on productivity and results.

Home Gym Equipment

Drop ship weights, bars, stationary bikes, and kettlebells.  Then build a brand around getting fit in the comfort of your own home.  Promote the fact that people save time and money in the long run by not having to commute.

Add in another revenue stream by promoting home meal delivery services, in-home personal trainers, and instructional exercise videos.  Build your brand’s reach by sharing meal prep and workout videos on your online store.

Tiny Home Furnishings

It’s not too late to cash in on the tiny home trend!  You can drop ship all of the furnishings that tiny home builders need. Increase your revenue streams by referring clients to tiny home builders!

Custom Window Treatments

Shutters, blinds, shades, curtains, drapery… you can drop ship all of these products while making a great profit margin!  Add in another stream of revenue by partnering with interior designers and sending them referrals!

Recreational Boating

Build a brand around recreational boating where you drop ship replacement parts and upgrade options for boater owners.

Add in another stream of revenue by doing brand deals with boat manufacturers, promoting boat shows, and promoting boat insurance as an affiliate!

Home Theater Equipment

Build a brand around home theaters and drop ship the projector screens, the mounts, the seating, the shelving, and the popcorn machines!

Increase your brand reach by showcasing different home theater setups for different size rooms.  Add in an additional stream of revenue by referring clients to home theater installation companies and also by promoting the electronic components as an affiliate.

Indoor Grow Rooms

Cash in on the growing cannabis industry by drop shipping indoor grow rooms, lighting, and related accessories.

Increase your brand reach by sharing “how-to” videos.  Add in another stream of revenue by doing brand deals with industry events.

Kiteboarding Gear

This is a niche that is continuing to grow with no signs of slowing down.  Drop ship the kiteboarding gear and start creating content to build your brand now.

Kiteboarding will be in the Paris Olympics in 2024 which should cause a huge boom in sales.  Do the work now and be positioned for even more success in the future.

2018: Repeat Purchase Niches

Keeping long-term strategies in mind will not only help bring in a consistent cash flow but will increase the value of your store over time. Meaning, if you decide to sell your store, it will be worth more.

That’s why 2018 was the year of the Repeat Purchases Niche. With these dropshipping niches, you’ll be able to acquire customers that will buy from your dropshipping store for years to come. This means you’ll have a much higher customer lifetime value and a higher ROAS (return on ad spend).

Here are Ten of the Best Dropshipping Niches for Repeat Purchases:

  1. Racing Bicycle Wheels (New Tires = Repeat Sales)
  2. Skeet Shooting Launcher (New Skeets = Repeat Sales)
  3. Grills / Smokers(Wood Chips = Repeat Sales)
  4. Video & Photography Lights (New Bulbs = Repeat Sales)
  5. Pottery & Ceramics(New Material = Repeat Sales)
  6. Automatic Pet Feeders (Pet Food = Repeat Sales
  7. Mobile Bars(Restocking = Repeat Sales)
  8. Commercial Restaurant Equipment(Restocking = Repeat Sales)
  9. 3D Printing (New Material = Repeat Sales)
  10. Bow Hunting (New Arrows = Repeat Sales)

2017: Community Niches

In 2017, we focused on passion-based niches that you can create Facebook groups around and become a leader in. If you build a thriving community around your products you’ll get a ton of organic and referral traffic, which means you’ll be able to sell more to your customers!

These ten niches are broad while still being specific. Meaning there are a lot of associated products you can sell with/after they purchase your main offer. Which means you’ll have huge upsells on the main offer AND be able to continually sell to them after!

So what niches are perfect for building Facebook groups?

Here are the Best Dropshipping Niches for Building a Community:

  1. MMA Training Equipment: Take advantage of the buzz created around fights
  2. Spelunking: It’s a competitive hobby, think photo bragging rights of “who climbed into that really really small hole”. Plus it’s usually a group activity.
  3. Survival Prepping:Think “Doomsday” preppers.
  4. Exotic Pet Supplies:People, LOVE their pets, and they also LOVE talking about their pets.
  5. RC Cars & Planes: Not just for kids. Adults pay some serious bucks for this niche.
  6. Rock Climbing Equipment: Also a group activity. Many rock climbers join local climbing Facebook groups to meet fellow climbers & talk “rock”!
  7. Lawn Care: These are the type of people who win “Lawn of the Month”.
  8. Robot Building:Another expensive “toy” for adults. There are even robot competitions!
  9. Bio-Hacking: Huge trend that has grown in popularity over the past few years.
  10. Amateur Photography: So many accessories to talk shop about: light boxes, stands, green screens, filters, etc.

With these ten niches, you can build up an active Facebook group that your customer will love to interact with. More importantly, you’ll have a brand that they’ll love to buy from!

2016: Upsell Niches

2016 was the year of the upsell. We chose niches that make you more money through selling add-ons with your main product. That means you make even more money per transaction.

Here are Ten Upsell Niches That Will Make You More Money:

  1. Power Tools – Value Added Upsell Idea: Woodworking Plans
  2. Drum Sets – Value Added Upsell Idea: Drum Lessons
  3. Gun Safes – Value Added Upsell Idea: NRA Membership
  4. Wall Paper – Value Added Upsell Idea: Interior Design Consultation
  5. Snowboards – Value Added Upsell Idea: Snowboard Bags
  6. Trampolines – Value Added Upsell Idea: Safety Net
  7. Fireplaces – Value Added Upsell Idea: Fireplace Screens
  8. Desks – Value Added Upsell Idea: Office Chairs
  9. Home Bars – Value Added Upsell Idea: Bar Stools
  10. Above Ground Pools – Value Added Upsell Idea: Pool Covers

2015: Hobby Niches

2015’s top ten dropshipping niches were all about hobby niches. People are passionate about their hobbies and will gladly spend top dollar to support that passion!

The best part? These passionate people can be targeted over and over again with new content that can be loaded into your email autoresponder. You can target the same customers repeatedly by delivering real value that they’ll love and want to share with their communities.

For you, this means less advertising costs, more qualified traffic, and more loyal customers.

Out of all the hobbies that are popular, we found that these ten dropship niches (in no particular order) were the winners:

  1. Aquariums
  2. Backpacking
  3. Deep Sea Fishing
  4. Home Brewing
  5. Bowhunting
  6. Model Trains
  7. Arts & Crafts
  8. Gardening
  9. Doll Houses
  10. Scuba-diving

These dropshipping niches have a lot of opportunities to use smaller offers for building trust with your customers. That way they’re comfortable buying your main offer.

Also, you can make some great free content with these niches to attract potential customers.

Conclusion

Now you have 50 of the best and most profitable drop shipping niches from the last 5 years! With these ideas, you can get started creating your own eCommerce store. And finally, live the lifestyle you’ve always wanted.

Why People Lose Money On Facebook Ads

Why People Lose Money On Facebook Ads

When it comes to Dropshipping profitably, your ads are as important as what you’re selling.

In this article, I talk about how you can avoid losing money advertising on Facebook.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Should I target worldwide for my products? or
  • Should I target specific countries?

Firstly, most people who use Facebook for advertising don’t really understand the profit structure to staying profitable with Facebook.

So let’s do the math.

PC – Product Cost

SP – Selling Price

PM – Profit Margin

CPA – Cost Per Customer Acquisition

CPC – Cost Per Click

SP (+margin) – PC= PM. Now this is elementary profit formula.

However, when it comes to Facebook, it’s important the PM = the maximum CPA

This is because your CPC and CPA should be determined by your PM.

And your PM guarantees wether you break-even, make profit or loss.

To stay profitable you need low CPC.

This is straightforward but most people don’t understand this and that’s why people lose money on Facebook.

So if you’re getting $1 CPC and your PM is $50, then you have 50 chances for someone to buy that product.

The average conversion rate on shopify stores are 3%. So 3% of 50 chances converting is 1.5 – 2.

Meaning that every $50 you spend, you get 2 sales totaling $100 profit.

From this we are already seeing the numbers that won’t convert and what you should be focusing on is how to convert those numbers.

So don’t throw money on Facebook ads and hope for the best because it’s not effective.

CPC is important for profit, so one of the variables to high CPC is the product and niche itself.

If you sell a chandelier or high ticket product, you’re going to attract high CPCs but it’s affordable as high ticket products have high PM to play with.

So what countries should you target? because these countries also impact your CPC and profit.

CPC in some countries: statista.com/statistics/279…

Targeting Checklist

Keep in mind that choosing countries to target, you have to look at:

  • purchase power
  • language
  • culture
  • consumer purchase behavior

So focus on 1 country, when you become profitable, move to another country and spread slowly but steady.

What is Dropshipping?

What is Dropshipping?

After 2 years of eCommerce, the most common question I still get is “What is dropshipping?”

On top of that huge question, there are a lot of smaller questions that I’m asked. Questions like:

“How do I find a profitable niche?” Or “How do I get suppliers?”

So to answer those questions and to show that you can reach your goals through drop shipping, I’ve put together this comprehensive dropshipping guide.

Section 1: What is Drop Shipping?

Before we go too deep into the details, we need to answer the question, “What is drop shipping?”

I know a lot of people find out about my eCommerce course ‘DropShip Mastermind ‘ by searching for the term ‘drop shipping’. And that they aren’t really sure what it is or how it works. Here’s the definition for drop shipping:

Drop Shipping is a retail method in which you don’t keep products in stock. Instead, you partner with a supplier that stocks its own inventory. You transfer customer orders and shipment details to them, and the suppliers ship the order directly to the customer.

 

Also, I know people wonder how you could actually drop ship profitably because there are many ways to drop ship. And the truth is, some ways work and others don’t. 

To start, let’s go over this diagram:

So as simple as possible, this is drop shipping in 4 steps.

Step 1 – You list the supplier’s product on your store for customers to buy.

Step 2 – The customer purchases something from your eCommerce store.

Step 3 – You order that same exact item that the customer paid for from your supplier.

Step 4 – Your drop shipping supplier ships this item directly to your customer. So your customer receives the item that they’ve ordered from you.

To explain a little further, it all starts with building your own eCommerce store and listing products on your website. I recommend building this store on Shopify and customizing it to fit your target customer.

But whose products are you selling? Well, these are different suppliers’ and brands’ products. You may be thinking, “why don’t these companies sell their products directly?” The thing is there are companies that only focus on innovating products that rely on retailers to sell them.

That’s where you come in as a drop ship retailer, you’ll be selling for these brands who don’t sell to the public. They look for people to sell their products, to make them money, and grow their business for them. You are one of these retailers.

You’ll want to focus on getting approved to sell for these different companies. After you’re approved you’ll put their products on your Shopify store. Then you will advertise to bring people to your store.

Customers come to the store, and after they purchase, you contact your suppliers. Then they ship the items directly to the customer. You aren’t buying any inventory. All you’re doing is making an agreement with the drop ship supplier to sell their products on your website.

You get their price lists and put their products for sale on your site. When someone buys, you place that order with the supplier.  You only order the product after the customer has paid you. Then you’ll contact that supplier, and say “ship item XYZ to customer ABC.” Then they ship it and charge you.

The difference between your retail price and what you pay your supplier is the net profit. From my experience, when you drop ship the right way,  you’re looking at about 25 to 30 percent average net profit. That means if you sell a $1,000 item, you make $250. That’s the average I’ve seen in my experience. Sometimes it’s higher, sometimes it’s lower, but that’s a good goal to shoot for. It’s a realistic expectation.

eCommerce Business Models

Before we go any further into how drop shipping works, what I really want to do is walk you through the different ways to make money online. That way, we can eventually get to how drop shipping is different and why I believe it’s the best way to make money online.

As far as online business models go, the most popular are eBay, Amazon, and building your own eCommerce store.

eBay is an online auction site that allows for you to sell as an individual or to set up a store, within their platform.

eBay is an online auction site that allows for you to sell as an individual or to set up a store, within their platform.

When I first started in this business over I think almost 10 years ago now, I was using eBay and that got saturated very fast and became a pricing war. It just wasn’t worth it, so I cut that out.

Dropshipping on Amazon is risky. The window for selling products could shrink fast, and you could very likely get wiped out by an over-saturation of competition.

If you’re not aware of this, you can actually go on Amazon and list your own items for sale. You could build what’s called an Amazon store.

Amazon is a great business model. I’m not going to put it down at all, but I do prefer to have my own eCommerce stores.

When you’re selling through someone else’s platform, whether that be eBay or Amazon or any other platform, they control the whole sales process, they own the customer and their database. They could sell other products to them and get them into their own sales model.

Shopify allows you to create your own independent storefront. With this platform, you’ll have much more control and better marketing advantages.

If you’re not aware of this, you can actually go on Amazon and list your own items for sale. You could build what’s called an Amazon store.

Amazon, It’s a great business model. I’m not going to put it down at all, but I do prefer to have my own eCommerce stores. Again, I use Shopify to host them and the reason is that you have much more control.

When you’re selling through someone else’s platform, whether that be eBay or Amazon or any other platform, they control the whole sales process. That means they own the customer and their database. They could sell other products to them and get them into their own sales model.

Those are the three main eCommerce business models that I think most people are aware of and the way most people get started out. So out of all of these, which do I like the best? Which do I recommend most?

Hands down, Shopify. I like having my own eCommerce store and I especially like how simple the platform is to use.

How To Find Products To Sell Online

Let’s say you know how to sell online. It could be eBay. It could be Amazon. Or if you follow my advice, it could be your own eCommerce store.

Your next step is finding products to sell. There are three main options and I want to break them down for you right now.

Importing

The first option is to import your products. You can go to websites like Alibaba and you could find products to imports from, let’s just say China.

This is actually how I started in business. Before I ever drop shipped, I was importing products.

Arbitrage

The next option, which some people recommend and I have no idea why is what’s called arbitrage. This is going to local estate sales, flea markets, or garage sales to find products that you could sell online for profit. I think this is just a waste of time and something that’s not scalable at all.

Domestic Suppliers

In my opinion, the best option would be drop shipping. Remember that image we reviewed in the beginning of this section? Basically, you’re finding companies that have products to sell and they’re looking for people to sell their products for them (retailers like you).

Becoming an Internet Retailer

When you go into a store, let’s say in a shopping mall like Bloomingdale’s, they sell tons of products, right? And they’re not selling, self-branded Bloomingdale T-shirts or jeans.

What they’re selling are products from dozens (if not hundreds) of suppliers and brands. So in the world of retail, there are the companies that manufacture and build brand names, and then there are the companies that sell for them. They’re the retailers. So in order to do drop shipping in a way that’s effective and scalable, we’re becoming retailers.

But we’re not doing what Bloomingdale’s does in the sense that we’re holding the inventory. What we’re doing is providing a retail outlet to sell these products for brands that create great products, without keeping inventory on hand.

Drop Shipping Success Checklist

Now we’ll go through what I’m going to call the successful drop shipping checklist. It’s a 7-step process that I use every time I create a store. And I highly recommend you use it when starting a new eCommerce store.

But remember, this is only the first section. So don’t plan on mastering any of this until you read all the sections.

If you eventually decide to join my online coaching program and community, Drop Ship Lifestyle, there are tons of videos on each of these topics. In the program, I give you the exact steps for building a successful eCommerce business.

With that being said, I still want to break this down so you get a good understanding of what drop shipping is, how drop shipping works, and what you should do when you’re ready to start.

That way you’re not left on your own, guessing what works. I have 10 years of experience with drop shipping, so let me give you the process that I use.

Step 1 Choose A Niche

First, you need to figure out what you’re going to sell In later sections I discuss what meets good niche selection criteria. I also cover how to choose a niche that you could actually make profit with.

Step 2 Research Competitors

The next thing you want to do is find your future competitors. So yes, you will have drop shipping competitors because there’s no niche out there that has zero competition. If you find one, it’s probably because it’s a bad niche and people don’t buy those products.

In this step, you’ll look for drop shipping sites that you’ll be competing with. Basically, you’ll try to find them before launching your drop shipping store so that you know who your competition is before you even get started.

Step 3 Create Your Store

You read that right, the third step is to actually build an online store. Yes, prior to ever even contacting the supplier. That’s because the good suppliers won’t approve you unless they see that you already have an eCommerce store. So this is something that you’ll want to do even before making that first phone call or sending that first email to a potential drop ship supplier.

Step 4 Get Approved With Suppliers 

Once you have your store up, then you can start making phone calls and sending emails to potential drop shipping suppliers to get approved with them.

With Drop Ship Lifestyle 6.0 we have certifications that can help with that. As well as, resources and guidelines that will make getting approved with suppliers as painless as possible.

Step 5 Optimize Your Drop Shipping Website For Conversions

After that, you will want to optimize your website for conversions. This is where you can make all the difference. There are so many different things you could do once you have your drop ship store up that can improve your conversion rate. Your conversion rate is how many people buy versus how many people visit your site.

Here’s the thing, you could have all the traffic in the world but if they don’t buy from you it doesn’t matter. You don’t need tons of traffic but you do need a buying audience. You need your website to turn those visitors into buyers. Or else, all the traffic in the world won’t solve your problem.

Step 6 Get Paid Traffic

The next thing to do is to get traffic. It’s one of the biggest questions I get asked in addition to niche selection, “how do I get the traffic to my store?”

There are a ton of different ways to get traffic to your drop shipping site and you shouldn’t rely on just one. You want to have diversified sources of traffic. That way your business doesn’t turn off overnight if one of your traffic sources stops working.

Step 7 Outsource & Automate

After that, you want to outsource and automate. So the beauty of drop shipping stores is that it’s very easy to automate them and outsource different tasks. You don’t want to do this at first. You want to build your business, you want to run it for a while.

That way you know how every step of the process works. After you do that, it’s very easy to start delegating tasks, outsourcing, and using apps that automate how your business works on a day-to-day basis.

Examples

The last thing I wanted to do in this section is to give you some example of good ideal stores.

That way you can see what it looks like when you properly execute the steps. Also, so you can see what an actual Shopify eCommerce store looks like.

Example 1: Enlighten Chandeliers

The first example of a drop shipping store is one of our demo stores, Enlighten Chandeliers.

If you want to jump over to the site and check it out, feel free to. Again, this is just one of our demo stores.

This would be an example of a site that went through all 7 steps. It also uses a Shopify theme that is known to convert.

Definitely check it out, click on some of the product pages, and see what your drop shipping store could look like.

It only cost $29 per month to build and maintain this site at Shopify, that’s it. No customization, nothing special. It’s very simple and doesn’t require help from a web designer.

Example 2: Happy Paws

Let me show you another oneof our demo drop shipping stores. It’s a store that sells pet supplies like kennels and crates.

Again, check it out, go to the product pages. In my opinion, this site looks amazing. This is the theme that we use for most of our stores and it’s built on Shopify.

Shopify is a plug and play eCommerce system. This theme costs less than $100. So for less than $100, you could have a gorgeous store that looks like this. That has all this functionality built in like:

  • Social sharing
  • Review system built in
  • Floating menu bar
  • Live chat

These examples should give you an idea of what an actual drop ship business looks like. I wanted to show you what a real quality drop ship store looks like, and what a store that has potential to make a lot of money looks like.

Section 2: Drop Shipping Advantages & Disadvantages

Now that I’ve covered the question, “what is drop shipping?” I want to go over the benefits and downsides of owning a drop shipping business.

It’s important to me to have transparency when it comes to your options.

That way you have the complete picture and can decide if you want to build a drop shipping business or if you’d prefer one of the other business models.

Benefits of Starting A Drop Shipping Business

Benefit 1: Being Location Independent

The first benefit and probably the one that’s most important to me with drop shipping is being location independent. In the last few years I’ve lived in Vietnam, South America, and Thailand. With a drop shipping business, you really can live and work from wherever you want.

Drop shipping allows a level of location independence that not many of these other business models do. That’s why my coaching program is called “DropShip Mastermind,” because you can be location independent.

Benefit 2: No Inventory Costs

Another benefit is that there are no inventory costs. So when you’re starting out with drop shipping, you aren’t laying out any of your money for inventory.

The truth is that when you’re a traditional retailer, inventory is your biggest expense. You need to physically have the products to sell but with drop shipping, you don’t. All you need is approvals from suppliers to have products. You only pay for items after you sell them and there are no warehouse costs.

Now in the previous section, I wrote about how I started in eCommerce by importing. So when I first started, I actually had these inventory and warehouse costs. I was spending tons of money every month to store my products.

But if you use the drop shipping business model, you’re not paying for these expenses, someone else is. All of your suppliers have their own warehouses and they’re paying to store these items. So it’s another cost that isn’t on your shoulders, something you don’t have to worry about when starting out.

Benefit 3: No Handling Returns

Another benefit to drop shipping is not having to handle returns. To be clear, if your customer wants to return an item, you’ll still have to forward the return slip from your supplier to your customer.

But these items are not coming to you. If you own a drop shipping business, you won’t have returned products showing up at your house.

They’re going to be shipped back to your supplier, and then based on the policy of that supplier, you’ll get a refund or they’ll ship the customer a replacement item.

One thing that I go into detail within the Drop Ship Lifestyle course is how to find suppliers with low return rates. So ideally, you won’t even have to deal with emails about returns.

Benefit 4: Gather Data While Getting Paid

This next benefit of drop shipping is gathering data while you’re getting paid.

Let’s say that you want to build a brand in the chandelier niche, you want to sell your own lighting fixtures or chandeliers. Also, let’s assume that you want to be an importer and build your own product line. We’ll also say that you even have the money to invest in it right now.

Well, before you throw money at an import business, have products manufactured, and start trying to sell them… I’d still recommend that you start a drop shipping business in that niche first.

As you’re drop shipping, you’ll be learning what sells. You’ll be able to find out what your customer wants and building resources that you can use for your own product line. All while making money. Basically, you’re testing out the market while making a profit.

You’ll learn what types of products sell best, what price point you make the most with, and which features customers of your niche want most.

Then, after you’re successful in that niche, you can use all that data to launch your own brand with an importing business.

Benefit 5: Easily Scalable

Another huge benefit of a drop shipping business is how easy it is to scale.

For instance, if you are making $100,000 a year in sales from just one drop shipping store, it’s very easy to build more stores with similar results. And the best part is that you can do this over and over again.

I always recommend starting with one drop shipping store, so that you really learn the process, go through it and master it. But after you do it one time, it’s very easy to do it over and over again.

Benefit 6: You’re Building A Sellable Asset

The next amazing benefit of building a drop shipping business is that you’re building a real asset.

Now when I first started this business, I didn’t realize it, but drop shipping stores are very valuable to a lot of people.

There are a lot of buyers out there that are looking for profitable eCommerce stores, especially drop shipping stores. Because basically, these buyers could just plug themselves into your business and be making money the next day. All without having to take over your inventory or take over a warehouse.

Here’s an example of what a drop shipping business will sell for: 

So let’s say at the low end, you build a drop shipping business that’s making you $1,000 a month in profit. That’s an amount that I think everyone could wrap their heads around, it’s very reasonable and attainable. That store could be worth as high as $20,000.

So that is what I mean here when I say drop shipping is one of the best ways to make money online, it’s in large part because you’re building a real asset. On great resource for selling your drop shipping business is Empire Flippers. It’s a marketplace to buy and sell drop shipping stores in all price ranges, from a couple thousand to millions.

Here are some dropshipping stores for sale on Empire Flippers. You can see that having a drop shipping business is a huge asset.

The Disadvantages of Drop Shipping

Now let’s talk about some of the downsides of owning a drop shipping business when compared to owning your own brand.

Disadvantage 1: Smaller Profit Margins

First off, there are smaller margins. Because you’re selling someone else’s products, profits are going to be less than if you created your own products.

If you go to China and have your products manufactured you can negotiate better deals for the product price. That’s because you’re doing a lot more work and taking on a lot more of the responsibility. But your profit margins will be higher.

So with drop shipping, there are usually smaller profit margins than with having your own brands. Later in this guide I will cover the exact margins, but on average, I aim for 25% profit margins with my drop shipping stores.

Disadvantage 2: No Inventory Control

Another thing that’s not so great about drop shipping, and in my opinion it’s probably the biggest downside, is that you have no control over inventory.

Let’s say you have one supplier whose product sells well on your website, you’re making great money with them. Well, what happens if that supplier runs out of stock? What if your drop shipping supplier sells out of those items?

Your customers are still going to want to order from you, but you won’t be able to fulfill these orders. You’re going to lose potential money in that situation. All because you have no control over the inventory, or because maybe your suppliers aren’t so great about managing inventory and keeping every item in stock.

This is something that great suppliers know how to deal with. Regardless, it’s probably something you’ll run into at least a few times if you decide to build your own drop shipping business.

You’ll run into suppliers who don’t have great inventory management and who do run out of stock and that will lead to lost sales. I cover how to spot bad suppliers in a later section and in-depth with my course Drop Ship Lifestyle.

Disadvantage3: Increased Risk of Competition

The last thing that I could really think of as a negative with drop shipping is the increased risk of competition.

If you create your own brand to sell online, let’s go back to that chandelier niche, and you make ‘Anton Chandeliers’. No one else can go out and create ‘Anton Chandeliers’ because that’s your company and your brand.

When we’re drop shipping, we’re selling other people’s brands that are looking for retailers. And other competitors will likely come across the same supplier and become retailers as well.

So it’s competitive, but if it wasn’t competitive, it would mean there wasn’t money to be made. It would mean there isn’t a market for that niche and it’s probably a bad niche to enter.

Those are my benefits and downsides when it comes to drop shipping. But even with the drawbacks, I always recommend building a drop shipping business.

It’s what I’ve recommended to family and friends, It’s what I teach to people because it works. It’s a great way to build a location independent business, for little money, with the potential of huge returns, and that could become a major asset.

Section 3: Common Mistakes In Drop Shipping

There’s a lot of bad information online about drop shipping, which leads to people making costly mistakes that can kill their drop shipping business.

If you want to have a successful drop shipping business, avoid these 5 mistakes. There are other smaller mistakes, but these 5 can completely derail your business before you even start.

The 5 Common Drop Shipping Mistakes

Mistake 1: Paying For Access To A Dropship Supplier

The first mistake is paying for access to a dropship supplier.

Let’s continue using the chandelier niche as an example. When you’re looking for suppliers and you use Google, most of the results are likely middlemen suppliers. Like these:

They aren’t the kind of companies that we want to dropship with. That’s because they make most of their money by charging fees.

These fees will come in two ways. The first will be an application fee to be approved by them. The second way will be drop shipping fees for every order you place with them.

If a dropship supplier wants you to pay upfront, it’s most likely because that’s how they make their money.

They aren’t interested in a long-term business relationship with you. You want suppliers that will take you on because you’re going to work together for years to come. You’re both going to make money with each other, it’s a beneficial business relationship.

Mistake 2 Working With Suppliers Who Call Themselves ‘Drop Shippers’

The next drop shipping mistake to avoid is working with suppliers who call themselves drop shippers.

Don’t look for drop shippers on Google, it’s an easy way to lose a lot of money fast and for this business method not to work. I know, I know, it sounds a little counterintuitive being that you’re reading a guide right now about drop shipping.

But I want you to understand, now that you’ve made it this far, that when you’re searching for suppliers you should never work for anyone that calls themself a drop shipper. You want to sell products for suppliers whose business is creating brands.

So again, let’s say you’re selling chandeliers. You want to sell for a company that makes chandeliers and doesn’t sell to the public but is looking for retailers. They’re not advertising themselves as a drop shipper.

The suppliers you want to work with shouldn’t be a middleman who buys products, keeps it in the warehouse, and then tries to find people to sell it for them. They are an actual brand that says they’re looking for retailers, but not drop shipping themselves.

Mistake 3 Working With Suppliers Who Don’t Enforce MAP policies

Another mistake is working with suppliers that don’t enforce MAP policies.

MAP stands for Minimum Advertised Price, it means that when you’re approved with one of these suppliers, they will tell you the lowest that you can advertise their products for. This is great because you completely avoid pricing wars.

For example, let’s say you’re selling baseball bats and your wholesale cost is $50. If your dropship supplier has a minimum advertised price policy of $80, then the least amount of money you can make per sale is $30.

Now what happens with suppliers who don’t enforce these MAP policies is that you get into pricing wars. For instance, maybe one of your competitors is okay with making $5 a sale. So this item that costs you and your competitor $50 at wholesale, your competitor is selling it for only $55, because they want to have the lowest price.

Your competitor wants to get all the sales, and they don’t care if they only make $5. This is something you totally want to avoid in drop shipping. The easiest way to avoid it when you’re first getting started is to only work with suppliers who enforce these minimum advertised price policies.

Mistake 4 Competing With Offline Retailers

The next mistake you want to avoid is competing with offline retailers.

If there are competitors in your niche selling in both offline and online stores, it most likely means they’re going to have better pricing than you. They’ll have special MAP policies that apply to them only. These retailers will be able to offer much more value than you.

Mistake 5 Buying a ‘Turnkey’ Drop Shipping Store

Another common mistake is purchasing a ‘turnkey’ drop shipping business.

In the last section I told you where you can buy and sell stores, but I 100% recommend you build your own. Whether it be your first store or your tenth, once you know the steps to being successful in drop shipping it’s always better to build than it is to buy.

Maybe you find a drop shipping business for only $200, $500, or $1000 and since you’re probably new to the eCommerce game, your first reaction is, “Great, I don’t have to do anything myself. I could buy this business and it’s already loaded with products.”

You should never buy one of these cheap drop shipping stores. They’ll never make you money because they’re just copy and paste clones of websites that dozens, if not hundreds, of people already own and none of them are making money.

The worst part is that most of them are pre-loaded with products that you could find on Amazon or other big-box retailers for a third of the price.

If you really don’t have the time to upload products or build your store, I do offer it as a service in my program. We work WITH you, so you understand all the steps in building a business.

Another option is to hire a VA (we teach this in the program too) for a couple hundred dollars they will upload all your products for you.

Frequently Asked Questions

Now that we’ve covered some of the biggest mistakes new drop shippers make, I’d like to address some questions you might have at this point.

How much time and effort does it take to build a drop shipping store?

I’ve been building drop shipping sites, again, for years. I could do it myself in about a week to get to the very basic point where I start contacting suppliers. So for me, about a week to actually set up the store.

As for the members of my Drop Ship Mastermind coaching program, some have done it in 2 weeks, some have done it in a month, some have done in 3 months. It really depends on how much time you want to commit to it.

What I will say is if you decide to work with me in my Drop Ship Mastermind coaching program, we have a 22 video course that’s specifically about how to do this fast. It walks you through how to build your own highly converting eCommerce store with screen-share videos.

It could take a week or a couple of months to build your store. It all depends on how much time you’re putting into it and if you’re following the proven steps in the Drop Ship Mastermind system or if you’re just trying to figure it out on your own.

How much can I make dropshipping? What will my profit margins be?

This one is kind of tough to answer because it varies so much. I own stores now and have owned stores in many different niches. I’ve worked with hundreds of suppliers and I’ve been in situations where I’m okay making a 15% profit margin. I also have some suppliers where my profit margin is over 50%.

So on average, I’d say with drop shipping my profit margin is right around 25% – probably a little higher. Remember, that’s net profit.

Meaning, if you sell a $1000 item after you pay for the product from your dropship supplier, take into account your advertising costs, subtract your merchant account fee, and cost to ship, you can expect on average to be left with about $250 profit on a $1000 sale.

To sum it up, that’s around the margins you can expect and that’s one of the reasons that I recommend selling expensive items, so every time you get a sale it’s actually worth it.

Is drop shipping a proven business model?

The short answer is yes, definitely.

I’ve mentioned earlier that I’ve owned drop shipping stores for 2 years now.

To give you some idea of my success and business size, my stores alone have done over 4-figures in sales.

Drop shipping has done great things for myself and many of my students in my Drop Ship Lifestyle coaching program. I recently did a survey, because we’re upgrading our program and many of my members said they are doing over $2,000 a month in sales on their drop ship stores.

Section 4: How Much Can I Make With Drop Shipping?

The first question that most people have when looking at drop shipping is, “how much money can I make drop shipping?”

As well as, “How quickly will I get sales?”

Having time and more money is what most people who come to me are seeking. Creating a lifestyle, passive business is at the core of 3ripple Solution, it’s why I started this program.

So I’m going to answer that main question as best I can. But I’m also going to cover what you can expect with your drop shipping store; from your potential earnings to the time it takes to make your first sale.

How Much Money Can I Expect To Make?

Let me start by saying that I can’t make any income claims for a couple of reasons. The first is that it’s illegal. I can’t promise that you’re going to make any amount of money at all. I can’t promise you’re going to make even a dollar.

So with that being said, when you hear me give examples of other members that are doing well or when I talk about my own stores, just know that these are the results that we’re getting. But in no way does that mean that you’ll get the same.

The real reason I can’t tell you how much you’ll make with your drop shipping business…

The biggest reason is that I don’t personally know you and succeeding in drop shipping has a lot to do with personality. So some of what I’ll talk about in this section is what you can do to give yourself the best chances of drop shipping success.

Because yes, this business model does work. We’ve already covered that in previous sections, so I really believe if it’s going to work for you or not comes down to a few personality traits.

How Much Drop Shipping Profits Per Sale?

To answer this questions, I’m going to cover 2 different scenarios. Like I talked about in previous sections, I find that the drop shipping average profit margin is around 25%, so I’ll use that in these scenarios.

Scenario 1: Low Cost Items

Let’s say you’re drop shipping items that sell for $10 retail. The customer goes to your website and buy your product for $10. There’s a good chance the product will cost you around $5 from your supplier and your shipping cost will be somewhere around $2 for a smaller item. So in this scenario, you’re left with $3 profit for processing an order.

In scenario 1, your profit per sale in this case will be $3, and that’s only if you didn’t spend any money on advertising. Not impressive, right?

Low ticket niches like this can bewebsites like Oberlo, it’s not what I teach in my program and not something I’ve ever done.

Scenario 2: High Cost Items

The second scenario involves selling more expensive items, what I like to call high-ticket drop shipping. You sell an item for $1000 and the item cost is $500 wholesale. Then your shipping cost is $200.

NOTE: Even though the supplier is going to ship your items directly to your customer, you still have to cover the shipping cost, but you can always reduce costs by charging the customer partial amounts.

So in this scenario, you’re left with $300 profit and that looks pretty good. Much better than $3 and it’s the same amount of work. The process is the same:

  • You uploaded the same amount of products to your website
  • You sent the same traffic to it
  • You got the same order
  • You processed it the same way on your end

But in one scenario, the high-ticket drop shipping model made 100x the amount of money than with the other one. This example gives you an idea of realistic results with the right dropship suppliers and the right niche price points.

This is a pretty average scenario for me, I’m in scenario 2 and also teach this method. I’ve never sold in scenario 1. I always go high ticket niches and only work with legitimate suppliers.

Dealing With Drop Shipping Returns

The next thing I want to talk about is dealing with dropshipping returns. Because it is something that people are scared of when starting a drop shipping business, or any eCommerce business for that matter. It’s common for this fear to hold people back from starting a drop shipping business.

People have this question in their head, “What happens if the customer gets the item and they’re unhappy with it and they want to send it back?”

Well, a lot of different things could happen, and there’s not one answer to this. For every one of your drop shipping suppliers, there will be a different return policy. So you can’t just have a generic policy here. As you’re getting approved with different dropship suppliers, you have to read their return policy.

Then your customer will have a return policy agreement with you when they buy from your dropshipping store. In the same way that your suppliers have to make a return policy, you have to make a return policy too.

So make sure you know exactly how returns work with each one of your drop shipping suppliers. Then when you’re making your return policy, make sure it basically matches what your supplier’s policy says.

If items can’t be shipped back after 2 weeks, make your policy that items cannot be shipped back after 2 weeks. If your suppliers charge a 25% restocking fee, make sure you charge a 25% restocking fee.

It’s important that you really look over these policies whenever you get approved with a supplier.

How Long Until I Get My First Sale?

This is another question that I find hard to answer, but I will do my best to tackle it right now: “How long will it be until I make my first sale?”

Let’s say you’re reading this drop shipping guide and you’re all in, you know you want to do this. You know you want to build a drop shipping business.

But you’re wondering when you’ll start getting results, getting paid from your drop shipping business.

There are a few different variables that factor into this. For me, when I’m building a new dropship store, I’d guess that in 1-2 weeks I could have my first sale.

So if you’re like me, coming into this with lots of eCommerce experience and you:

  1. Are confident when you contact suppliers.
  2. Know what to say to the dropship suppliers
  3. Know how to build a demo drop shipping store before you contact a dropship supplier
  4. Know how to set up traffic

If you are confident with all of this, it usually only takes 1-2 weeks before your first sale.

For people that have been through my Drop Ship Lifestyle program, some have done it in as little as a week, which blows my mind.

But the time until your first sale depends on a lot of factors.

One factor is how closely you follow my coaching program, because I will show you the quickest way to setup your drop shipping business. All you have to do is watch the videos and follow along.

Now if you want to do it on your own it could take you a year, it could take you 2 years. On your own you may never get your first sale. But I do believe, if you follow along with what I could teach you, that it should take around 1-2 months for you to get your first sale.

But who knows, maybe you’ll surprise me like the members who emailed me within a week or two to say they’ve become profitable.

Another thing that could factor into how long it takes to make your first sale

is your previous technical skills. Some people have more experience working with websites, so they could do this in a day. If not, it could take you a month for the first time around.

Real Life Drop Shipping Example

I had someone in my coaching program email me recently and it took him months to get a sale with his first drop shipping business. He had moved to Thailand and it took him a long time to get it right.

Recently, he wanted to start another drop shipping business. He wanted to move onto a second drop shipping store to increase his income, and he had emailed me about a niche to ask for my feedback on it.

So I reviewed it for him, I gave him my feedback and told him, “Yeah, I think this is great drop shipping niche. You should go ahead and build your store and let me know when it’s done so that I can give you my feedback on it and you can make any improvements that I see room for.”

And within 2 or 3 hours, he had emailed me back with a link to his new drop shipping store. It was live and it was totally built out.

Of course, there wasn’t any traffic going to it. There weren’t actual suppliers that he was approved with yet. But he had built his demo store within a couple of hours. And his first store took him over a month to build.

What I’m trying to tell you is that there’s a learning curve and it may take you some time to get it right. But after you successfully build a drop shipping store once, it’s a skill that will stay with you for life and you can just repeat the process over and over. And, if this is a step you want to skip over, we do offer web design packages for those of you that really don’t have the time or who just aren’t getting it.

So to answer this question as simply as possible, maybe it’ll take you a week, maybe it will take you a couple of months. It really depends on how closely you follow along my coaching program, and really what your previous technical skills are.

I’ve said it bunch of times already, but I really am here to help. So if anything comes up and you get stuck, definitely send me an email and I’m happy to help.

Section 5: Where Do I  Sell My Drop Shipping Products?

In this section of The Ultimate Guide to Drop Shipping, we’re going to talk about where to sell drop shipped products.

By this point, we’ve covered quite a bit. If you were totally new to eCommerce and drop shipping before, at this point I hope you’re starting to get a clear picture of what dropshipping is.

I hope that you now have a better understanding of exactly how this online business model can work, and what’s possible with drop shipping.

Now, let’s get started with the different ways you could sell these drop shipped products.

3 Different Ways to Sell Your Drop Shipped Products

When you start thinking about the different ways to sell your dropship products, it comes down to three options.

First is eBay. That’s pretty much everyone’s starter business model when they think about eCommerce. Create an eBay account, make some listings, sell the products.

The next is Amazon, it’s becoming more and more popular, but it is still possible to actually list products for drop shipping on Amazon. So that’s an option.

And option 3 is having your own store, this is what I do. It’s actually building your own eCommerce store.

Drop Shipping on eBay

Let’s talk about why eBay shouldn’t even be an option for drop shipping.

First of all, the really good suppliers with great brands aren’t going to allow eBay dropshipping.

Whenever you sign a contract and get approved for a new drop ship supplier, 95% of the time it states in the contract that you’re not able to sell on auction websites.

Obviously that includes eBay because it dilutes the value of a brand.

Good dropship suppliers, the ones you want to work with, are those who truly care about the perceived value of their brand.

Great suppliers are not going to approve people only to have them jump on eBay and start selling their products at ‘auction’.

Just think about a high level company like Gucci. They’re not going to approve a seller and say: “Okay, yeah. You can sell these real Gucci bags on eBay. It’s fine.”

That’s not how it works with any good supplier, no matter what the price point of their products or the level of their supplier tier. When it comes to using eBay for drop shipping, don’t even think about it.

Drop Shipping on Amazon

The next drop shipping option is Amazon. Personally, I don’t drop ship on Amazon. However, I do know quite a bit of people that do it successfully.

What I’ll say about drop shipping on Amazon, is it’s risky, because the window could shrink fast and you could get wiped out by an over-saturation of competition.

On Amazon, making a lot of sales comes down to who has the best price.

Again, like eBay, there’s a lot of drop ship suppliers that won’t even let you sell on Amazon.

I do have one piece of advice for drop shipping on Amazon: don’t put all your eggs in one basket. It’s quite common that overnight a bigger player steps in and starts competing with you.

But I can’t fully recommend drop shipping on Amazon, especially not as your primary source of income.

Though if your store is up and doing well, and you’re looking to scale your business, then Amazon is an okay option for an additional source of income. Still, it’s just my opinion, but you shouldn’t rely on all of your income coming from Amazon.

Here’s a recap of the reasons why I find drop shipping on Amazon too risky to rely on 100%:

  1. You don’t own your customers.
  2. The margins are very low.
  3. You can get wiped out easily.

Owning Your Own Drop Shipping Store

The third option is to have your own eCommerce store. This is the drop shipping model that I teach people to do in my course and it is what I always recommend.

So let me go through some of the countless benefits as to why I teach this method and why it’s proven to be successful, time and time again.

Benefit #1: You’re Not Competing Solely on Price

First, you’re not competing solely on the price of an item. When you own your own drop shipping business, you own that platform and data. It’s no longer only about price.

Sure, people can find your products elsewhere, but when they’re visiting your eCommerce store, they’re not seeing all of your competitors like they do on eBay and Amazon. They’re seeing your store and your store only when making a purchase decision.

The same can’t be said for drop shipping on Amazon or eBay alone.

Benefit #2: You Have More Choices for Additional Traffic Sources

Next, when you own your own drop shipping store, you have more traffic sources available to you. When you’re dropshipping on eBay or Amazon, they already have their own built-in traffic. Some people see that as a benefit to drop shipping on those platforms, but I see it as limiting.

In my opinion, what makes owning your own drop shipping store better is having access to certain advertising options that you just don’t get with Amazon or eBay.

That’s something that I’m not going to go into much detail now, because the possibilities with paid traffic is a whole other section. However, it’s something I do cover in depth in my Drop Ship Lifestyle coaching program.

Benefit #3: You Own the Customer and the Data

The next benefit of owning your own eCommerce store is having the customer data. This is a huge drawback on Amazon. You don’t even get your customer’s email address! When someone buys from you on Amazon, you’ll ship them the product, but you won’t know who that person is.

When you have your own eCommerce store, you own all of this data. When these customers buy from you, you have:

  • Name
  • Address
  • Phone Number

But most importantly, you have their email address.

And that leads into the next benefit of owning your own store.

If you have their information, especially their email address, you can extend the lifetime value of your customer, or LTV. You could have emails automated to follow up with them to offer upsells and add ons. Also, you could send them Holiday promo campaigns, and any other promotional email marketing they might be interested in.

Again, this might be a little bit over your head if you’re new to this. But it’s something I do cover in detail in my Drop Ship Lifestyle coaching program!

Benefit #4: You Can Implement the Changes Your Market Wants

The next benefit of having your own store is that you can implement the changes that your market wants. You can target your specific buyers.

On sites like eBay or Amazon, they’re not targeting one specific customer because they sell everything. They are targeting anyone who could purchase anything from them.

When you have your own dropshipping store, you can make it super specific and target an exact buying demographic.

So, find out who your ideal customer is and make your dropshipping store revolve around them.

Making your dropship store highly targeted will greatly increase your conversion rate when you compare to somewhere like eBay or Amazon.

Now you can start to understand why I’m such a big fan of recommending that drop shippers start and sell from their own eCommerce store.

Just remember, you should never sell on eBay and you shouldn’t start drop shipping on Amazon.

The Top 5 Places to Build Your eCommerce Store

So if you want to build your own eCommerce store, how do you actually build it?

Well these site builders are the 5 most popular options for eCommerce. While there are more out there, these are the 5 you will hear about most.

WordPress

The first is WordPress and you might already be familiar with this platform. Maybe you’ve built a blog on this platform before, and I’m sure you’ve been to WordPress sites countless times. They power something like 60% of all websites online.

WooCommerce is a plugin for WordPress that allows you to build an eCommerce store on their platform.

Now the problem with WordPress is that it’s self hosted.

That means that you’ve to pay for a server somewhere. You have to upload WordPress and WooCommerce, and then you’re responsible for the security.

What kind of security?

Basically, you’ll need security to keep hackers off of your eCommerce website.

If something breaks on your dropship site, it’s up to you to get fixed. Whether that means doing it yourself, or paying someone to fix it. If there’s a problem with your self-hosted WordPress site, no one’s going to just jump in there and fix it for you for free.

You host it, you control it. That’s how WordPress and WooCommerce work.

Yahoo Stores

Yahoo! Small Business, or Yahoo Store’s, is actually an eCommerce platform that I used when I first started over a decade ago. But now, it’s incredibly outdated. So maybe you hear people still talking about it, but it’s not something I recommend for drop shipping.

Magento

Magento is a great eCommerce platform. However, it’s for very advanced drop shipping stores. Generally, the price isn’t worth it for 99% of us dropshippers.

I don’t use Magneto now, but I have in the past with other drop shipping stores. But for niche specific stores, the ones I teach people to build in my drop shipping course, they don’t need that kind of power. This platform is far too expensive and even harder to customize, so it’s not worth it for what we need.

BigCommerce

The next option would be BigCommerce, which is a hosted eCommerce platform. That means, they host your drop shipping store for you.

So they make sure your eCommerce store is secure and safe from hackers. More importantly, they make sure that your customer’s information is safe.

And if anything breaks, the BigCommerce team will fix it for you.

Now, I do like BigCommerce but I have one problem: their customer services. When I’ve used them in the past, I had some issues and found their customer service to not be that great.

Shopify

That leaves us at the last option, Shopify. They’ve been around for a few years, but they’re now one of the biggest eCommerce platforms. And simply put, they are amazing for drop shipping. You could easily build an incredibly gorgeous dropship store with them.

Drop ship stores built using Shopify are super easy to control and extremely secure. Plus, their customer support is available 24/7 and they never hesitate to jump on a call or live chat to help you. They are more than happy to fix your store or take care of payment processing!

What’s great about Shopify is their massive app store. This store has hundreds of Shopify apps that let you completely control how your store looks and functions.

When it comes to pricing, Shopify again is incredible. Their plans start at a very low $29 a month. Even if you don’t like paying monthly fees, remember everything they’re offering for that cost. When you’re trying to build a business, spending $29 once a month should not be a concern.

Going back, the first option of building your drop shipping store on WordPress with WooCommerce, I wouldn’t use that because of security issues. Just not worth it.

I’d rather pay $29 a month on Shopify just for that peace of mind.

Next, Yahoo! Small Business is very outdated.

Then we have Magento, which is for the massive drop shipping stores and something we don’t need.

While BigCommerce is a good option for drop shipping, the customers support is not great and can cause more headaches.

So that just leaves Shopify. And hands down that is the winner for me. For now, I wouldn’t recommend any other platform.

Now that you know where to sell your dropship products, I’m going to show you how you get suppliers in the next section, “Getting Suppliers: How to Find Good Ones and Get Approved?” And as you know by now, that’s going to be covered in the next section.

Section 6: How To Get Dropship Suppliers

In this section I’m going to show you how to get legitimate suppliers for your drop shipping business.

In previous sections, I’ve covered what type of suppliers you want to stay away from. Which may leave you wondering what kind of suppliers we do want to work with…

Here’s how I find good drop ship suppliers and get approved to sell their products.

How To Find The Right Drop Ship Suppliers

Step 1: Research Your Competitors

The first thing you want to do is find your competitors. After choosing the drop shipping niche that you’ll be selling in, you’ll want to find retailers that are already in that niche.

As I mentioned earlier, there are no good niches without competition. There’s competition because people are making money in these niches. So you’ll want to find your competitors’ websites.

To do that, you simply use Google and search for your niche. Then you’ll go through the top results and look through their stores, trying to find out who they’re selling for. Because we want their drop ship suppliers to be our suppliers.

So there are a few different ways to find your competitors’ suppliers.

Once you’re on their websites, look for sections that say something like:

  • “Brands”
  • “Manufacturers”
  • “Suppliers”

If you want a hands on demonstration of competitor research, I do offer that with Drop Ship Lifestyle. You’ll get to watch me (via screen share) visit different websites and different niches to build a list with hundreds and hundreds of drop ship suppliers.

As you find more and more suppliers from your competitors’ websites, add them to a ‘Master List of Suppliers’ that you will contact later.

Step 2: Identify & Avoid Bad Drop Ship Suppliers

Now let’s recap 2 things to stay away from when you’re searching for drop ship suppliers. And unfortunately, a lot of new drop shippers make these supplier mistakes.

Mistake #1 Using Drop Ship Directories

The first thing I want to mention is why you shouldn’t use drop ship supplier directories.

When you search for drop shipping, you’re going to find a lot of dropship supplier websites that say they have millions of products. They’ll charge you an access fee and supply you with a list of drop shipping products.

I know a lot of people that make money with drop shipping, and none of them are doing it with these directory sites. These sites are setup to make money through charging fees, so don’t pay for access. Don’t use these drop ship directories.

Mistake #2 Buying A Turn-Key Drop Shipping Business

The next thing I want to warn you against is buying a turnkey store, no matter how tempting it is. If you research drop shipping, you’ll find plenty of these turnkey drop shipping stores for sale.

These drop shipping stores are full of:

  • Drop shipping products that are overpriced and unsellable.
  • Traffic sources that everyone else uses and won’t work for you, because your prices will be too high.

Don’t buy one – no matter how tempting it looks, no matter how good the deal is. Whether it be $500, $1000, or $2000, buying a turnkey store is a huge waste of time and money. None of these sites are going to make you money, do not buy them.

Step 3: Get Approved By Drop Ship Suppliers

Now let’s talk about what’s really important: how to get approved with your drop ship suppliers. So it’s one thing to make a ‘Master List of Suppliers’ in your niche, but how do you actually get approved? Here are some quick tips to help you navigate the approval process successfully.

Build A Demo Store

Now that you’ve picked your niche and researched your drop shipping suppliers, it’s time to build your drop shipping store.

You’re going to build your store on Shopify before you’re approved with any suppliers. You do this first because no legitimate supplier is going to approve you before they see your drop shipping store.

Here’s a conversation you don’t want to have with your dropshipping suppliers:

“Hey, I want to sell your products!” – You.

“Okay, can we see your website?” – Drop ship supplier.

“Oh, I don’t have one.” – You.

That’s how you lose potential drop ship suppliers. Without a website, they won’t give you the time of the day.

Before you have suppliers, your online store is just a ‘demo’ store. This is so drop ship suppliers can preview your store. They can click around, but nothing will actually be for sale yet.

This strategy shows suppliers that you’re serious,  and that if they approve you, you have a platform to sell from.

Know How To Explain Marketing Techniques

When you finally reach out to these drop ship suppliers, be prepared to discuss your marketing techniques and how good your customer service is.

You really need to know at least a few marketing tricks before you reach out to these drop ship suppliers. Because again, it’s not their job just to approve everyone. It’s their job to build brands and they need competent retailers to do that.

I recommend going through an online course or watching YouTube videos to learn more about eCommerce marketing. That way, when you’re talking to drop ship suppliers and they ask how you’re going to market their drop shipping products, you could at least have a conversation with them.

You don’t have to be the biggest expert in the world, but you should understand how eCommerce marketing works. You can learn that again just by Googling it, by going to YouTube, or by working with me in my coaching program.

When talking to the drop shipping suppliers, you need to focus on how important customer service is to you. This is something often overlooked by retailers. But it’s something that means everything to drop ship suppliers.

Once suppliers approve you and you’re selling for them, you become an authorized retailer promoting their brand. This is why they only want to work with people who are going to treat their customers right. Because it reflects on their brand.

Make sure whenever you’re having these conversations with your future suppliers that you explain:

  • How important customer service is to you and your business.
  • That you know how to treat your customers right.
  • That their customers will have a pleasant buying experience with your store, encouraging repeat business.

Remember, the goal is for everyone to make money, and for that to happen their customers have to be treated right. And your drop shipping business has to treat your customers right, so that you can make money too.

Follow Up Regularly

The next thing that’ll help you get approved with drop shipping suppliers is to follow up regularly.

The legitimate suppliers aren’t going to approve you right away. Remember, unlike the drop shipping directories, legitimate suppliers aren’t looking to approve as many people as possible.

Drop ship suppliers are building brands. So it’s important to sell yourself and your online business to them with your marketing knowledge and customer service. But it’s also important to follow up regularly after the first conversation.

Even someone like me, who’s been in the drop shipping business for a long time, doesn’t get instantly approved with drop shipping suppliers. At first, they usually say:

  • To follow up in a month.
  • They’re busy.
  • They’ll get back to me (they never do).

That just means that I have to take initiative and follow up with those dropship suppliers.

Keep Excellent Notes 

It’s crucial that during the approval phase you keep excellent notes with everyone you speak to. If they say to call back, know when you’re supposed to call back. If they say, they’re going to send you something, ask them when they’ll send it by and if they don’t, make sure you follow up. It’s your responsibility to make these supplier approvals happen.

These 3 steps are going to have a huge impact on your overall sales and how well your drop shipping business does. They are huge part of running a drop shipping business. Make sure to get it right by building an online store to show suppliers, know how you’ll market their products, and follow up afterwards.

So that’s going to do it for this section. In section 7 I’m going to cover how to handle your drop shipping products and how to answer questions from your customers.

Section 7: How To Sell Drop Ship Products Without Buying Inventory

When I say something like, “I’ve sold millions of dollars in products online that I’ve never seen or touched”, it seems a little weird, right?

Not holding an inventory brings up a lot of questions for those just starting their drop shipping business. In this section, I’m going to answer some of the most common questions about selling drop shipping products.

That way, when these questions come up in your drop shipping business, you’ll already know the answers to them. Plus, you’ll be able to answer the biggest question, “What is drop shipping?”

FAQ’s About Selling Drop Ship Products

If someone calls or emails you with questions about the products on your drop shipping store. How do you answer them?

Answering your customers’ questions may seem tricky at first because you likely know very little about your own products.

Most likely, it’s a product that you’ve never seen and have no experience with. If you’ve never physically held or seen the product that you’re drop shipping, it’s going to be very hard to answer your customers’ questions about those products. So what do you do?

Well, my advice is to tell the customer: “That’s a great question. Let me find the answer for you and I‘ll call you right back.”

All you have to do is explain to them that you’re going to contact the manufacturer and get an answer right back to them. This does two things for your dropship store, it gives them the correct answer but it also builds trust with your company because you’re taking the time to get the answer right.

Sounds simple, right? It works because your customer will feel appreciated. Potential customers are more than happy to wait for the right answers.

Drop Shipping Hint: Have a phone number on your website.

I’m a big fan of having a phone number on your eCommerce store, especially if you’re following my advice and selling expensive items. The customer will want to call in, they want to talk to someone before swiping their credit card.

I held off on adding a phone number to my dropship stores for a long time. Mainly because I was afraid that I’d be in a situation where I couldn’t answer the customer.

But as soon as I put my phone number on my site, my sales saw a huge boost. It was the best conversion optimization tweak I’ve ever made.

Don’t be afraid to find the answers for your customers’ questions, and of course, add a phone number to your dropshipping site. That’s how you can handle customer questions and build trust at the same time.

How do you know you’re selling high quality products?

Nobody wants to have a drop shipping business that sells bad products, that usually means a ton of returns and unhappy customers. You want to dropship high quality products, but here’s the catch… If you’ve never seen or touched your products, it’s hard to really know if they are high quality.

Before I sell for a new drop ship supplier, I look for product reviews. Reviews like the ones I found for this paddle board supplier.

Checking product reviews is a great way to ensure you’re dropshipping a high quality product. All you have to do is search for their company on Google to find reviews of them and their products. This is the easiest way you could screen for those low quality dropship suppliers.

Doing this will give you a huge head start and help you avoid selling low quality products with high returns.

How do you handle returns? But also how do you answer questions about returns?

Let’s say for some reason a customer doesn’t like something they bought from you. Maybe it was damaged and they say, “Hey, I just got my order and there’s a problem with it. I want to send it back.”

What do you tell them?

This may be something you’re nervous about when you first start off in eCommerce. But like I said in a previous section, how you handle returns is based on your supplier’s return policy.

Even if you don’t know the answer off hand, all you have to do in this situation is tell your customer, “I’m sorry this happened. Let me check our return policy and I’ll get right back to you.”

Then review your supplier’s return policy and figure out if there’s a restocking fee or if you have to handle the return shipping. You’ll just need to go through the process that your drop ship supplier laid out.

It’s worries like these that hold people back from starting their drop shipping business. A lot of people want everything figured out before they start, but the truth is, that you can learn as you go.

And if you’re not willing to do that, then there’s a good chance you’ll never be successful in business. Because being successful is all about learning things as they happen.

How do you know if a product is in stock?

If a customer calls and says, “Hi, I want to order this $2,000 item. I just wanted to make sure it’s in stock before I placed my order.” How do you answer them?

This is a very common question when you’re drop shipping expensive items. Customers don’t want to spend their money unless they’re completely sure the product is going to be shipped to them quickly.

However, answering this question will differ based on your drop ship supplier. Many drop ship suppliers will provide a link to their weekly inventory report, something like an Excel spreadsheet. In it, you will be able to see how many items are in stock.

So in the situation that a customer emails or calls to check if an item is in stock, you’ll just open that inventory report from your supplier and check. Then you can tell them “yes” or “no.”

If you aren’t given a spreadsheet, the supplier may have an inventory report on their website. In these cases, suppliers will provide you with a login so that you can see if products are in stock.

If they don’t give you either of those, then you’d simply tell the customer, “Let me check with my warehouse and get back to you right away.”

You can take some time if that means they’ll get the correct answer, especially if you are selling more expensive items.

How do you know when a product will ship?

When a customer buys a product from you, how do you get the tracking information for them? What happens after you’ve received their money?

Good drop ship suppliers will automatically email you with the tracking number after the order ships from their warehouse. Then you can input that tracking number into Shopify so your customer knows it’s in transit.

Instead of waiting for a customer to request it, you could also be proactive about order tracking. Personally, I keep different spreadsheets with orders and notes.

What’s Included In Your Proactive Order Tracking Sheet? 

So if a customer calls in and they want to check the status of their order, you should have an Excel or Google spreadsheet open that says exactly what the shipping status is of that order. Here are some other details you should include on this sheet:

  • When was the order placed?
  • Did it ship yet?
  • Do you have a tracking number? If not, who do you follow up with?
  • Who’s the drop ship supplier?

Just like every other customer service situation,  if you don’t know the answer, you should tell them: “I don’t have an answer right now.”

If you don’t have the tracking number yet tell them, “Let me call my supplier and call you right back.”

Again, there’s nothing wrong with telling your customers that you’ll get back to them with an answer as soon as you can.

What do you do if your customer wants to place a bulk order? 

This doesn’t apply to every niche but you may run into this unique problem. Some of my drop shipping stores have received $65,000 orders, which is insane for one order on any eCommerce store.

This is obviously not something where the customer will go to your website, enter the credit card number and that’s it. The customer will call in and tell you why they want to buy in bulk. It’s also likely that they’ll want some type of discount since they’re buying so many products.

And of course, you can offer them a discount, but how does that process work? What do you do?

Step 1

Well, first thing that you want to do is contact your supplier. You want to make sure that they have enough inventory or find out when they will have enough.

Step 2

You then want to negotiate a price with your dropshipping supplier. If someone’s going to order $60,000 worth of products and your wholesale cost is something like $30,000, you’ll want to get a better profit margin. You want to get paid for the extra work of pulling off such a big sale.

Step 3

Since many credit cards don’t have very high limits, the last step is setting up a wire transfer with your customer. Plus, an order of this size would probably flag your credit card merchant account if you tried to process the order.

When someone wants to place a bulk order, just ask them how many pieces they need and when they need it. Then tell them you’re going to put together a custom quote and get back to them.

While you’re creating that custom quote, talk to your drop ship supplier. Negotiate a deal with them and make sure those products are in stock.

3 Tips for Sourcing Content to Add to Your Product Pages (Without Inventory)

Now that I’ve covered some of the basics of dealing with customers, let me give you a few bonus dropshipping tips to wrap up this section.

Search YouTube for product reviews

There are a few different ways to add content for your product pages without ever seeing or touching them.

The first thing I recommend doing is searching on YouTube for product reviews. There are a few kind of videos that people make for products.

  • General reviews where they walk through benefits and downsides of a product.
  • Unboxing videos, where they unwrap a product for the audience and share their first impressions.
  • Videos comparing products in the same category.

All these videos are a great way for you to get some extra content to add to your website.

I’m not saying you should take their videos and put them on your website. But if you are drop shipping an item that has a video review on YouTube, try to pick out the best parts of the content and add that to your website.

Attend industry trade shows for great and unique photos

Another tip to get some unique content for your dropshipping website is to attend industry trade shows.

If you’re drop shipping chandeliers, you should attend lighting trade shows. Not only to meet your suppliers and get new ones, but also to take photos of the products. And all of these photos you take at the trade shows will be unique to you!

Now you’ll be able to add unique photos that don’t all look the same to your drop shipping pages. Attending industry trade shows will not only give you a chance to see the products in person, but it will also give you valuable content for your drop shipping business.

Ask your previous customers for testimonials and images

Another tip for sourcing great content to add on your drop shipping website, is to ask previous customers for images. If you’ve already made some sales, you should be reaching out to your customers. Not only to get testimonials for your store, but to also have product images from actual customers.

Again, this will add some unique content to your website, which will help with your conversion rate. Because it will make you stand out from your competitors.

I hope this showed you how you can sell products that you’ve never seen or touched. In the next section, I’m going to talk about how you get your drop ship store noticed. That means bringing people to your store and actually making sales!

Section 8: How To Drive Traffic To Your Store

Once you have your store built and your drop ship suppliers secured, how do you get people to visit your drop shipping site?

This section will give you a brief introduction to some of our traffic sources and how they work. That way you can drive the best traffic to your drop shipping store. I’ll also show you how to mentally approach traffic as an eCommerce store owner.

How You Should Approach Traffic For Your Drop Shipping Business

Before I dive into our traffic sources, I just want to make it very clear how you should approach traffic. First off, you don’t need all the traffic in the world. A lot of people when they build a website think they need thousands of visitors a day.

Some people even get caught up with the idea of competing with Amazon and their millions of daily visitors!

But you don’t need Amazon level traffic to be successful, because you’re not trying to compete with everyone. All you’re trying to do is get enough sales to reach the income goals you’ve set for yourself.

If you want to beat Amazon, I can’t help you. If you want to build an online business that’s profitable, I can help with that.

How You’ll Profit With The Right Type Of Traffic

In order to succeed with your drop shipping site all you need is buyer traffic. 

For example, let’s say you had a thousand people visiting your drop ship site every day. That’s a great number, but are they looking to buy or are they just random people who stumbled upon your drop shipping site while searching online? 

You don’t need a thousand visitors a day to make money. You don’t even need a hundred visitors on your drop shipping site a day to make money. Sure, it’s ideal but that metric shouldn’t be your main focus.

Instead, you should be focused on getting visitors that are ready to buy. For example, let’s say you had 10 people come to your drop shipping site every day and those 10 people were buyers. They found your site, and they’ll pay a $1,000 for your drop shipping products. With traffic like that, you could have a very successful drop shipping business.

It’s probably not going to work out exactly like that. But just so you know, you don’t need all the traffic in the world. You only need visitors that come to your dropshipping site because they actually want to buy your products.

How To Get Buyer Traffic

There are a lot of different ways to find buyers for your drop shipping site. Honestly, I could spend hours talking about traffic and how I use it with Drop Ship Lifestyle. But for now, I am going to show you some of most common methods of attracting buyersto your drop shipping site.

Traffic Source #1: Google Shopping

First we have Google Shopping. If you’ve ever searched for a physical product on Google, you’ve likely seen some product images, product prices, and product names above your search results. For instance, here are the ads that popped up when I searched for ‘exercise bike’:

Google Shopping is a very, very targeted source of buyer traffic if you use it right. That’s because it’s people searching for specific products. They see the ad, the price, and a link that takes them right to that product. It’s great traffic for bringing buyers to your dropship site.

Traffic Source #2: Bing Shopping

The next one is Bing Shopping. Not as popular as Google, but another shopping engine where you can list products.

Traffic Source #3: Facebook Ads

Facebook Ads for eCommerce can be pretty tricky. It’s great for re-targeting, meaning if someone comes to your eCommerce store and they don’t buy anything, you could show them an ad on Facebook with your store as a reminder.

You’re basically telling them,“Hey, come back! We still have these items here for sale. We’re still here. Come and purchase from us.” 

For new traffic, Facebook can work, but it’s a much longer sales process. That’s because If someone finds you on Google shopping, they were searching for the product that you’re advertising.

If they find you on Facebook Ads, it’s because you’re trying to target them with an ad for your drop shipping store. So the person on Facebook isn’t proactively searching and ready to buy. Meaning, traffic from Facebook ads isn’t made up of buyers. But Facebook Ads still can work if you build a sales funnel to turn them into buyers.

Traffic Source #4: Pinterest

The next thing you should do for traffic is use Pinterest. Pinterest is great for eCommerce because it gives your drop shipping site a ton of traffic and it’s free.

Pinterest also has paid advertising, but even with just organic pins Pinterest drives a lot of traffic to your drop shipping site. And they even allow you to sell your dropship products through Pinterest, linking directly to your Shopify store.

Traffic Source #5: Search Engine Optimization

Search engine optimization (or SEO) is something I could speak about for hours and hours. But I’m just going to say that with your drop shipping stores, it’s not that hard because you aren’t trying to rank for generic niche keywords. You’re ranking for specific dropship product titles. So it’s very easy to rank for something like a manufacturer name, product name, or SKU number (stock keeping unit). 

Because again, we’re not going for those top level, super competitive keywords. We don’t want that super competitive keyword traffic, because it’s not ‘buying’ traffic.

If someone searches for chandeliers and they find our store, that’s great, but chances are they’re not yet ready to buy. If they search for the chandelier company manufacturer name, product name or SKU, there’s a good chance they’re much further along in the buying cycle. That means we have a much better chance of turning that visitor into a customer. 

And that’s how we use search engine optimization for our drop ship stores. Again, this is something I go into much more detail within my Drop Ship Lifestyle coaching program. There, I actually show you videos of how to set this all up so you can get the best results.

Traffic Source #6: Guest Blog Posts

The next thing you could do is write guest blog posts. That means you find blogs that are relevant to your niche and share information on them. Most of the time, the owner of the blog will link back to your drop shipping site. This will help you get noticed by blog traffic and search engines.

Traffic Source #7: Banner Ads

The next thing you should do is take out banner ads on different blogs that are in your dropshipping niche.

Simply rent some advertising space, create a little graphic to be placed on the blog and people will click it. It’s a great way to get your drop shipping store noticed.

Traffic Source #8: Gift Card Giveaway

The next thing you could do is a gift card giveaway. So if you’re selling expensive items, like I recommend, your profit margin per sale should be relatively high. That means you can afford to give $25-$50 off per order.

A gift card giveaway is something that works really well, especially when launching a new drop ship store. Run a promotional contest for $50 gift cards that are valid on purchases of $1000 or more. So if someone spends over $1000, they get a gift card that gives them $50 discount. You still make a great amount of money and it’s a great way to drive people to your store when you’re first starting. 

These are just a few traffic sources that I use, I could go into much more detail about them. Module 7 of our “Drop Ship Lifestyle” coaching program is all about traffic. So if you want to know more about this, I highly recommend signing up for it.

Now that we’ve covered some of the basics about getting traffic to your drop shipping store, let’s talk about the most important part of the equation: lead value optimization.

Lead Value Optimization

What’s really important is converting your traffic into sales. Taking a visitor, having them go through your checkout page and order from you.

There are so many different ways to do this, but it’s called lead value optimization. Which is getting a lead that comes to your site and getting the most value out of that visitor. How do you make as much as possible from everyone that visits your site? 

This is something that I cover in great detail inside my coaching program.

In this next section, I going to give you a sneak peek into the Drop Ship Lifestyle 7.0 members area. I’m going to take you inside the coaching program and show you some of the modules.

Section 9:  Drop Ship Lifestyle 7.0 Update

Now that I’ve answered, “what is drop shipping?” – It’s time to give you a tour of my course Drop Ship Lifestyle.

The newest update, 7.0, has some massive improvements that should make your drop shipping journey much easier. The update comes with brand new resources, course updates, and an easy to navigate members area. Check out everything new here.

Now that you’ve finished The Ultimate Guide To Drop Shipping, you may have some questions. Drop leave them below and I’ll help you out!

Tips For Choosing The Best and Most Profitable eCommerce Niches

Tips For Choosing The Best and Most Profitable eCommerce Niches

Have you ever wondered what the first three rules of finding profitable niches for drop shipping are? Have you been left scratching your head, thinking that maybe drop shipping isn’t for you?

If so, this is some vital information that will get you prepared to turn your drop shipping business around. Discover the three criteria Olisa uses to find profitable niches that will have you making a full-time living off your eCommerce store. You may be surprised at what they are… and we can guarantee you will use this information for years to come!

 

eCommerce Niche Selection Research is Essential

So, you’re ready to start an eCommerce drop ship business.  Congratulations! The first step is the biggest one of all. That step is not just saying that you “want to start an online business” but actually taking action and moving towards getting your first sale.

One of the largest mistakes that is made when starting an eCommerce drop shipping business is not enough research. Many times at first glance, a niche can look like a gold mine ready to start bringing in the big bucks. But, after some diligent research it can quickly be found to be infiltrated and overrun with competitors. This would mean very little profit, and the opposite of your goal.

Olisa will explain the tips to avoid this costly mistake.

The Importance of The Right Niche Selection

Here are three great tips from Anton on selecting the right niche while keeping three of the most important things in mind: Price, Target Market, and Brand Loyalty!

The first step of the drop shipping process is called “Niche Selection”.

This section will cover the first step towards building a profitable eCommerce business by choosing your niche.  A good niche will meet three prices of criteria: it will fall into our target price range, it will appeal to the upper-middle class, and consumers will have no brand loyalty which we will be explained in-depth later.

When selecting a niche for a new eCommerce store you should look for a set of products that meet certain criteria. Olisa constantly reminds us of how important it is to do this profitably. How to choose profitable niches and how it can actually be easy.

Now, the problem is you can still make money if you do it the wrong way. Except it will be a lot harder to get to your desired outcome. Which I guess is making a full-time living, right? Making a lot of money with eCommerce..

Below are three tips from Olisa, and he will better explain the tips and strategies to nail picking the best niche for you.

Tip #1: The Importance of Pricing

There are three tips for selecting a profitable niche that will actually make money. Now, here are a few pieces of criteria I look for. The first thing is always the price. That means product’s price, what you’re going to sell this product for.

The average product price should be $200 or more.  This is because your average profit margin (when you are drop shipping and using our method) will be about 25% of the gross revenue. What does that mean in practice? Well, if you sold something like a water bottle, that’s not at least $200. So that is not going to be a niche that I recommend get involved with.

The same amount of time will go into processing an order for $20 as it will for processing an order for $200 or $2,000.  If you’re going to be doing the work you might as well have a chance of making some real money on each sale.

It is important to note that although I do have websites that sell products for $999 and up, I have noticed customers placing an order that large prefer to call in to place their orders.

If you are comfortable on the phone, then this will not be a problem, but if you want to run an online store where the majority of orders come in before the customer even contacts you, I would recommend selling items priced between $200 and $700.

Now, on the other hand, if it is something like a cell phone, that’s more than $200. That would pass the price test, but it would not pass the third test that you’ll hear about later.

Tip #2: Your eCommerce Niche Target Market

I have sold products online that appeal to the wealthy, products that appeal to the middle class, and products that appeal to lower income households.  From all of my experience, I have learned that it is best to appeal to the upper-middle class, meaning online shoppers who have a household income of $100,000 or more.  It’s sad to say but if you sell products that appeal to low-income households you will have a lot more work to do.

Once we make sure our price is above $200, we look towards our target market. Now, if you are involved with marketing at all (if you ever studied marketing) you’re familiar with demographics. And the truth is you could break up the world into probably a billion different demographics.

When people don’t have enough money or spend their last dollar to buy your products, you better believe they are going to have more questions. They are going to be inspecting the items more carefully. If anything is wrong or even if they think anything is wrong, you are going to hear about it non-stop.

With the wealthy, it’s the same thing. When they are investing money or buying products, they expect a certain level of customer service that requires really a different type of business owner.

And there is nothing wrong with that.

But, just expect that if you’re going to go that route, you are going to be more of a concierge rather than someone that makes money online.

Again, that is why when we are looking at demographics. Remember, stick with the upper-middle class. I define that as having a combined household income of above $100,000 U.S. dollars.

When people have that kind of money, they are very comfortable with spending online. They are used to buying items that are $200 or more. They are not going to be calling or emailing you as much.

So again, this demographic makes niche selection a lot easier. It makes your business run a lot smoother. It makes it a lot more profitable if you choose niches that fall into that target demographic. If that’s who the products appeal to.

Tip #3: eCommerce Brand Loyalty

The final tip from Olisa is just as important as the first two regarding your target demographic and pricing. Now, we will talk about brand loyalty. As was mentioned earlier that while cell phones fall into the price range criteria, they don’t meet one of my other criteria and that is because of the brand loyalty.

When someone is going to buy a cell phone, in general, they are going to buy an iPhone or they are going to buy another Android phone, they pretty much already have a brand in their head of what product they want.

Same thing with people that are going to buy headphones. There is probably four or five big headphone companies. Right? There is Sony, there is Bose, there are Beats, and there is Sennheiser. There are all these big companies and people already know what they are going to buy.

So the third thing that you are going to look for when trying to choose a profitable niche is to pick an industry that has no brand loyalty. It’s going to make a big difference.

That’s because if you try to sell in a niche where people already know what company they want to buy from, it’s going to make it that much harder for you to get dropship suppliers. Harder for you to actually be able to sell these products, for you to be able to compete in terms of price. It’s impossible.


Remember The Target Market for eCommerce Niches Are Vital!

After two years of experience selling products online, I’ve realized that selling products to low-income households require much more pre-selling, more customer interaction, and more complaints/returns.  The same can be said about selling to the wealthy. They expect more personalized service and require much more of an effort to close the sale.

We are looking to start a business that requires as little effort as possible while generating the most sales possible.  We are looking to sell to single people or families with disposable income who are used to shopping online and comfortable making large purchases over the internet.

How Brand Loyalty Affects Your eCommerce Niche

What kind of computer or cell phone do you have? Is it the same kind of brand as your last one? Chances are if you own a Mac, the next computer you buy will also be a Mac.

Why? Brand loyalty.

When selling online, you want to avoid selling products that customers already have brand loyalty for…

For example, I wouldn’t try to sell TVs online.  Most customers who are buying a TV do the research on which TV is best for them or purchase the same brand TV they have had in the past.

They already have researched which TV brand has the best picture quality, the best warranty, and the best reviews online.  If I wanted to sell the TVs that people are actually buying (Sonys, Panasonics, LGs, etc) there is no way I would get approved for an account with the same payment and pricing terms as Best Buy or any other big box stores.

So, what type of products do I look to sell?  Products that customers are thinking about buying, but will not be diverted from buying it because it isn’t from a specific well known brand, or cause them any reservation because they could think it is “off-brand.”

Here are some examples of eCommerce niche markets that I would want to target:

Let’s say I live on a lake and I decide I want to get into stand-up paddle boarding.  I know I need a paddle board and a paddle but I have no prior knowledge of this sport or what brands are well known.  I could care less what company makes the board as long as I can find some good reviews and the price is right.

This is a great example of a product to sell online.  The average cost of a stand-up paddle board and the paddle is over $700, the average customer does not care what brand they are buying, and this sport is likely to appeal to the upper-middle class and would be purchased with disposable income.

Here is another example:

Mr. and Mrs. Smith move into a new home, there is a huge chandelier that hangs in the entryway.  Mrs. Smith hates it. They go to the local The Home Depot & Lowe’s but can not find a replacement that they agree on.

They know what style they are looking for but they can not find it locally. Mrs. Smith goes online and searches for a 30” x 30” entryway chandelier. She finds a website with hundreds of options including one that she and husband can agree upon.

This is another great example of a product to sell online.  Chandeliers are expensive, they appeal to the upper middle class, and the average customer does not care what brand they are buying as long as they like what they see.

  • Expensive
  • No Brand Loyalty
  • Appeals to Upper-Middle Class

Take some time now to think about other products that meet these criteria.  Write a list of as many product types as you can think of.

If you’re crunched for time, let us help you by providing you with some niche ideas.

eCommerce Niche Selection Conclusion:

These are some excellent first tips that are sure to be valuable and help in honing your strategy when choosing the right eCommerce niche.

Remember that these three rules for profitable and effective eCommerce niche selection are crucial: the target price, the target demographic, and brand loyalty cannot exist – because if it does it is going to make your life and eCommerce drop shipping business a lot harder.

How to Sell a Product in 2019: The Future of Drop Shipping

How to Sell a Product in 2019: The Future of Drop Shipping

Running a successful eCommerce company takes more than just knowing WHAT products to sell – you need to know HOW to sell a product.

Knowing How to Sell a Product is Important for a Variety of Reasons:
  • It makes you money… obviously.
  • It invokes sustainability for your company.
  • It lets you focus on picking the perfect niche to sell in. More time can be spent picking a niche, and less time will be spent learning how to get conversions.
  • It forces you to understand and empathize with your customer.

How to Sell a Product in 2019

Over the years, many parts of the business machine have changed. The “ages” of business management and operational procedures evolved through the waves of execution, expertise, and empathy. The ethical umbrella that most businesses operate under today is different than what was commonplace 100 years ago.

But there are also many practices that have remained the same over time. As businesses, we will always need the customer.

In the Forbes article linked above, Robert Wallace writes that:

“Even as tech changes our processes and delivery mechanisms, we still need to have a clear idea of who we’re talking to, how to find them and what messages will resonate and convert them into paying customers.”

Adapting to the Future of Drop Shipping

Below are two common schools of thought when looking at the future of drop shipping:

  1. Some people believe that it’s too late to get into this business. I get asked, “Anton, isn’t everything saturated? Isn’t drop shipping just a trend that’s going to die?”
  1. Other people are already drop shipping and making money, but they aren’t sure what’s going to come next. They are curious as to what their business is going to look like in the next two to five years.

So some people think drop shipping is a trend, and others have no idea how to grow their business.

Here’s what I think:

There will indeed be some shifts in the drop shipping world. When?

I don’t know. I don’t spend my mornings deciphering the letters in my alphabet soup. I don’t claim to see the future.

But know that if you ever see any videos, blog posts, or headlines that say anything like “drop shipping is dead”… stay wary.

I don’t think that’s ever going to happen.

First off, drop shipping is just a way of fulfilling orders. That’s all drop shipping means. You as the retailer sell items on your online store, and the supplier ships those items.

Drop shipping is NOT like an eCommerce trend, or a trending niche. It won’t just “go out of style”

The drop shipping business model will never die. Manufacturers and brands will always need retailers to brand themselves. That’s the reality of retail.

3 Simple eCommerce Marketing Strategies you Need to Take More Seriously

I’m going to share three broad tips for selling a product.

As I mentioned earlier, the roots of marketing have stayed the same throughout history. Of course, we must adapt to current styles and trends, but the formula is simple: speak your customer’s language, get the sale.

Below are three strategies that will ensure you know how to sell a product, even when the future is uncertain.

This isn’t an all out guide – it’s a place for you to start. I provide information from industry experts like Derek Halpern, Empire Flippers, and Shopify. They are awesome. The community has A LOT to thank these people for, and Drop Ship Lifestyle is grateful for the impact these folks have had on digital marketing.

Let’s dive in.

1. Learn How to Sell a Product to Passionate People

It’s easier than ever to bring people into YOUR world – into YOUR eCommerce business.

Just put products they love right in front of them. Give them products they’re actually excited about.

Find a group of people that are passionate about a certain product type. Look at what they like, and what they don’t like. If you truly know your customer, you will be able to deliver relevant products and content.

But here’s the caveat… products don’t exactly sell themselves.

In this video, Derek Halpern shoots the breeze about why people don’t always buy what you sell.

“People rarely believe that what you do is as awesome as YOU believe it is” says Halpern.

He continues on to say that “you must realize that creating a good product or service is the cost of entry… and to succeed, you’ve got to sell it.

Halpern couldn’t be more right.

Yes, finding good products to sell is important. Finding passionate people to sell to is extremely important. If you don’t pick a good niche to sell in, you’re gonna lose sleep and hate yourself for it.

BUT…

If you don’t know how to SELLthe product, you won’t make sales (aka, NO money for you).

So pick a niche that breeds awesome, passionate customers… then SELL TO THEM! There’s a million strategies for doing this. Check out more strategies on Social Triggers, or look at some of the selling techniques  we teach on the Drop Ship Lifestyle blog.

Takeaways:
  • Put more effort and energy into new websites and new product types that people are passionate about.
  • Your audience needs to be passionate about what the product does or what they can use it for. Could it fuel their hobbies or help them with their career?

If you sell to a passionate audience, you will take advantage of opportunity as you move into the future of eCommerce. Your customers will stay with you, even if the going gets tough. They will love you, but again, you need to SELL to them. Read more about that in the next section.

2. Learn How to Sell a Product with Trust and Authority

Trust is a HUGE factor when selling online.

People always ask why someone would buy from their store over buying on Amazon.

Imean, why would someone choose to buy from [.generic example namehere.] when they could get the product on a super site that’s trustedall over the globe?

Methods to Build Trust

Marketers use little hacks to increase a store’s level of trust. We do things like:

  • Getting reviews from customers
  • Paying for different badges and trust seals to put on the website
  • Building a solid brand(I will talk about this at the end of the section)
  • Having other people vouch for you (what we will focus on for right now)

The latter point, “having other people vouch for you”, is my first suggestion for gaining trust and authority in your industry.

TIP

Partner with people in indirectly related industries. If other companies vouch for you, your customers will fall in love.

The trick is to find non-competitors who are involved in your circles. These people/companies/organizations will be interacting with the same people as you, having the same conversations, and they will be interested in the same products.

From here, you could: 

  • pay them to vouch for you
  • do a joint venture with them
  • or you could scratch each other’s backs by promoting one another’s products

This is known as influencer marketing. If these indirect competitors vouch for your product, talk about your product, or promote your product, it’s going to hold A LOT of weight for your business.

Influencer marketing will definitely increase your conversions. Not only it will send you people, but it’s going to make sure your site stands out as an authority in your space.

This is one of the areas where marketing is taking somewhat of a new turn in the future. Yes, influencer marketing has always existed… but not in the vast universe of social media and the internet.

Times are a changin’ for sure.

Focus on Good Branding

Empire Flippers wrote a fantastic article on the importance of good branding.

In this piece, Gina Edwards reminds us to “keep in mind the intended effects of branding — promise, loyalty, and differentiation. Your brand should speak to how your business or services follows through on the things your customers are looking for, and you can build a relationship with them from there.”

Good Branding Does 3 Things:

Makes a Promise

Builds Loyalty & Recognition

Sets You Apart

If your brand effectively speaks to your customer, you will form a bond with them. Making promises you can deliver on is an effective way to build trust.

Takeaways:
  • A great way to become a big player in your industry is to partner with other people in indirectly relatedindustries.
  • The more other authority figures vouch for you, the more trust and authority you will gain.
  • Building a brand builds trust.

My next point builds off of what Edwards wrote in the Empire Flippers blog. Branding brings opportunity…

3. Branding is the Icing on the Cake

One of the benefits that we have as independent retailers over huge shopping mall sites is customer access.

A site like Amazon targets EVERYONE. They sell everything from chicken nugget soap to carburetors. Your store, on the other hand, is able to target specific customers. This provides them with a unique and personalized experience.

Comprehensive Overview From the Pros

Shopify is an incredible source of information for up and coming entrepreneurs.

If you want some great starter info for building a brand, check out this little guide from Shopify.

The guide’s author, Braveen Kumar, states that

“Your brand is how people perceive you wherever they interact with your business—both the impressions you can control and the ones you can’t.”

Kumar gives some great tips for getting in the right mindset to build a brand that leaves the right impression for your audience. If you’re currently in the initial stages of the branding process, you need to read this. You could be missing something vital to your branding endeavors.

Taking the Next Step

Once you build a niche-specific drop shipping store, and once you’re consistently making sales, it’s time to take the leap.

You need to build your own product line.

While this isn’t absolutely necessary, I think it’s the next logical step in the process of growth for your eCommerce business. Even if you’re just private labeling a few products, a product line makes a massive difference. Not only will you be more profitable, but you’ll expand your reach.

If you go with creating your own brand and product line, your products could even end up being sold in your competitors’ stores. There are plenty of benefits to this:

  • More money
  • A little more work
  • But more opportunities (not just to your drop shipping store, but with your new brand!)

Discovering How to Sell a Product is Worth It… Even if it Takes Some Work

Remember:

  1. Get into product types that people are passionate about.
  2. Build trust and authority in your space. You want to be someone that people talk about – someone that your indirect competitors are linked to.
  3. You’ll want to create a brand within your space [AFTER you’re already successful – making money and sales].

I’m always down to chat, so feel free to leave your thoughts in the comments.

Thanks for reading!

Drop Shipping On Shopify: Amazon vs Oberlo vs Domestic Dropship Suppliers

Drop Shipping On Shopify: Amazon vs Oberlo vs Domestic Dropship Suppliers

There’s a lot of confusion about the differences between Oberlo, Amazon, and domestic dropship suppliers. But all we’re really talking about is different ways to fulfill orders on Shopify.

The main goal of this article is to show you which dropship supplier is best for building a real brand that provides real value to your customers and to your bank account.

We’re not going to focus on building burner stores that will make you some money for a few weeks.

We want to build a dropship business that’s going to grow and compound over the years and still be a business that you’ll be proud to call your own 5-10 years in the future.

If you’re serious about eCommerce, which I assume you are since you’re reading this article… the first question you should ask yourself is, “What’s the most important factor in building a long-term brand?”

I get different answers to this question all the time. People say getting good traffic or having good dropship suppliers.

But the key to long-term business success is having happy customers.

The key to long term business success is having happy customers.

When people actually trust you enough to give you their business, they have to actually like what you provide them. This leads to long-term success. Not only because they’ll leave positive reviews, but because they’ll talk about your business.

This adds up over the years.

On the other hand, if you’re giving people… 

  • A bad experience
  • Terrible customer service
  • Long shipping times
  • Poor quality items
  • Items damaged on arrival

You’ll get bad reviews and people will tell others not to trust you which won’t lead to a long-term business. So if you want to have a store that stays around for awhile, you need to keep your customers happy.

The Big Three Dropship Suppliers

Let’s give an example of the shopping experience. Let’s say our customer’s name is Sarah. She’s on the internet and sees your ad then lands on your Shopify store.

Once she places her order, we have a few different options to fulfill the order. one of them is Amazon.

You could go to Amazon, buy the product and have it shipped to Sarah.

You could also have Oberlo linked to your Shopify store that would be fulfilled from a third party supplier, most likely from China.

The last option is a domestic supplier, which means that they are based in the country you’re doing business in.

Using Amazon As Your Dropship Suppliers

First, the buyer will go to your website, place the order, and you get the money in your bank account.

Then you’ll go to Amazon and buy that item for your customer at a cheaper price. This model is called arbitrage.

How Amazon Drop Shipping Works: 

  • Buyer orders on yoursite.com
  • You find the product for cheaper on Amazon
  • You place an order on Amazon
  • Amazon ships to your customer
  • You keep the difference

This model can also use eBay and Walmart, instead of Amazon.

But it isn’t sustainable because you don’t have relationships with suppliers, so you can’t be sure that products will stay in stock, or hold at a certain price.

Arbitrage also has a lot more manual work for small profits. When you order the products from Amazon, you have to private message the sellers and ask them to not include any slips, invoices, and packaging from Amazon.

Otherwise, your customer will receive something from Amazon, becoming confused and angry.

There’s also no barrier to entry. If you found something very profitable to sell, you would have a ton of competition because literally anyone can do this at a moment’s notice.

Issues With Drop Shipping From Amazon: 

  • Not sustainable (no consistent selling products)
  • Too much manual work for small profits (need to private message all Amazon sellers to tell them not to include packing slips and Amazon packaging)
  • No barrier to entry
  • Customers will occasionally receive Amazon packaging on accident (leading to frustrated and angry customers)

While this technically still is drop shipping, it has too many issues for it to be a viable long-term solution and I don’t recommend it.

Oberlo Dropship Suppliers

You could build a Shopify store and import the products you want to sell from Oberlo, linking those products to your store.

The buyers will find the products on your site and place orders, then you process the order on Oberlo.

Oberlo then sends the product to your customer. But Oberlo isn’t a supplier, they’re a middleman between the manufacturers and your store.

They have a ton of suppliers, causing a lack of consistency in quality. If you deliver a bunch of defective items the customer will send them back to you, not Oberlo. Then you have to return them directly to the manufacturer.

We call this the ‘drop shipping from China model’ because most of the suppliers are based in China when using Oberlo.

How Oberlo Drop Shiping Works: 

  • You import products to your Shopify store
  • Buyer orders on yoursite.com
  • You process the order through Oberlo
  • The supplier ships the item to your customer

One of the biggest problems is that you’re always chasing trends to catch a hot product for a few weeks. Think of products like fidget spinners. After a short time, your store will fizzle out.

Most the products from Oberlo are both inexpensive and of sub-par quality. Overall, these products lack a lot of quality control. Not all of it’s bad but most of the products suffer from inconsistency.

There’s also no pricing control on Oberlo. They don’t use minimum advertised price (MAP) which results in pricing wars and little to no profit.

Another issue with the products found on Oberlo is that they’re usually generic with no branding. This may seem like a perk, but at Drop Ship Lifestyle, we believe that being retailers for brands is the key to long-term profits.

Because these items are coming from overseas (usually China), there are long lead times. So even with the fastest shipments, you’re looking at 10-days but it’s usually more like 20 days for your customer to receive their items.

Your customers don’t want to wait that long for products. This leads to customers having a bad experience, leaving negative feedback, and filing chargebacks.

There’s also no barrier to entry, so it’s highly competitive and there will always be a lot of people selling the same products.

Issues With Drop Shipping From Oberlo: 

  • Always trying to catch the latest trend
  • Inexpensive & offer sub-par quality products
  • No price controls (race to the bottom)
  • No branding whatsoever
  • Long lead times
  • No barrier to entry
  • No quality control assurance (from the suppliers)

With all these issues I can’t recommend this type of drop shipping.

Domestic Dropship Suppliers

When I say domestic dropship suppliers, I mean using dropship suppliers from wherever you’re selling. So if you’re in Australia and you’re selling in that market, use Australian suppliers.

This lowers shipping time down to 3-5 days, resulting in happier customers and more positive reviews for your drop shipping business.

It all starts with choosing a niche and building a store based on that product category. Avoid creating ‘shopping mall’ stores with a lot of different niches that aren’t related.

Once you find your niche, you look for people that already sell what you want to sell. These future competitors will have dropship suppliers and you’ll get approved to sell their brands.

This is somewhat of a barrier to entry because you have to talk with these brands and get approved to sell with them before you can start selling products. To me, this is a positive thing because it reduces your competition by adding a step.

Once set up, the buyer will come to your site and purchase. Then your dropship supplier will process the order.

The supplier ships the product directly to your customer and you keep the difference between the item cost and your retail price.

Besides much faster shipping times, one of the biggest benefits of the Drop Ship Lifestyle model is that if there are ever defective products, it can be directly returned to the supplier.

How Domestic Drop Shipping Works: 

  • You choose a niche & find your “future competitors”
  • You get approved to sell for legitimate brands
  • Buyer orders on yoursite.com
  • Your dropship suppliers process your orders
  • The dropship suppliers ship the item to your customer
  • You keep the difference

Like the other dropship suppliers, there are a few issues with this drop shipping model.

Before you turn on your store, you spend a lot of time doing niche selection and market research upfront.

You’ll also have to build your website before you have suppliers so that you can show them where you’ll be selling their products.

There’s a lot of effort put into building relationships with suppliers and you won’t likely get approved immediately.

This model is all about building long-term businesses that need time upfront to develop.

Issues With Drop Shipping From Domestic Dropship Suppliers: 

  • You need to do market research
  • You need to build a website BEFORE you apply
  • You need to earn the trust of top-tier suppliers
  • Put simply, it takes real work to get started

Since this builds a real brand that has long-term success, I recommend this model.

Have you tried Amazon or Oberlo dropship suppliers? Let me know in the comments!

Hopefully, this clears up the differences between dropship suppliers. This article is based on a Drop Ship Weekly video I did: